What it feels like when you guide someone and it turns out life changing!

Yash Wasalwar
4 min readJul 5, 2023

--

Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

The learning journey is endless and in this competitive world it seems it is the most important skill which anyone should develop so as to keep moving head to head. But, sometimes this seems not at all possible until you are experiencing it and the verdict of following this practice. Once you do, you realise that this is not at all facile. It takes hours of dedication, focus, oh wait not just focus, but “focus” without any distraction (conditions apply). This is something which I have learnt in couple of years and I am happy that I was able to change someone’s perspective about the same, not by 100%, not by 50%, but by 1% (in my opinion).

Yes, as I am having a Computer Science background and I love to code in Python, it had opened ample amount of plausible ways for me to explore and “see” true power of Python. Since I am into this from past 1.5 years, I have seen days where I was unable to understand anything, and was “always” on the verge of giving up and start something new, however I convinced myself that this situation will last for not more than 1–2 days, and by doing this, when I continued where I left, was able to comprehend successfully what I didn't understand.

This gave me a kind of framework: “Whenever in doubt take action, whenever in massive doubt take massive action”

So, why am I telling this to you as reader?

There is something which I got from one of my junior who was striving this situation. He was unable to take proper actions, despite he was interested in coding with Python. I then explicitly, explained him the same things which I have written about my experience and also told him to just trust the process and follow a course (which I gave him) with full dedication and also warned him in advance that everyday is not hunky dory while you are learning.

So after couple of days of learning, he wrote me explaining what he learnt and experienced, here it is:

So, few months ago I decided to learn python language because of the push I got from my fear, and procrastination made it possible to happen. So I buckled up and sat on my train of thoughts which lead me to an online course beautifully crafted by an enthusiastic ma’am. The journey is 60 days long which started with excitement and is running on the rail of conflicts. Being able to learn so many new things from basic building blocks to the running lift of the coding language, I got to build my own projects like: -

  • Tip Calculator
  • Pizza delivery
  • Stone, Paper, Scissor and so on.

Few days felt like seconds while some days hit hard like a long seasonal month, but somehow, I’m keeping it up because you got to “keep punching”.

And not just that, he also wrote me something which is somewhat motivating for me and when you get this nuggets which resembles you contributed something positive in other’s life, the feeling is unreal, so here is the brief written by him:

Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

Barely I could see my dream in live form with over a distance which seems unfathomable. Disappointment starts to blur my vision and slowly it starts to dawn by making me unconscious, but the process is interrupted by a waving hand.

My vision gets stable and I could see an elder boy skating around a circle carrying a vivid smile, facing this frizzing cold like it’s a piece of cake. Waving his one hand for me and another one carrying a shining piece of metal which by stressing my eyes made it look like a skating boot. His vivid smile said a lot, even though my hands and legs are numb by continuous hit of falling over and making huge holes, but it’s going to make me complete. Wishing to fill the boot one day and make my own moves by facing this freezing cold like a piece of cake. Finally I stood up realizing this numbness, shivering and fear are all part of the process which can be followed by a beaming smile. My drawing seems all clear!!

I was so happy for him as at least he started to be in that zone and tried to compete with himself.

So after that day there is no looking back for him, I can feel it. As if you can enjoy your discomfort, then nothing seems impossible!

This was something I wanted to share to readers worldwide as this would help someone who is in a situation who feels nothing is going your way and everything seems impasse.

So believe and trust the process ✌️!!

Everything will work out.

--

--

Yash Wasalwar

Ex-Research Intern @DRDO · Always learning · Loves to talk about Data Science and Life Experiences